Heading for JavaFX

JavaFX was announced at the previous JavaOne conference in San Francisco, 2007. It was clear from the beginning that this is an important strategic technology for Sun. Although I am not really into scripting languages, there are some things about JavaFX that I really like. Probably the most important feature to me is that you can use the power of the Java platform from within the scripting language.

I have done some experiments with JavaFX occasionally over the last few months. Nothing in official projects, though. I had the impression that although JavaFX seems to be very important for Sun, it would still take at least months before it really gains momentum. That turned out to be a reasonable guess. 

Very soon, however, I will do something more productive with JavaFX. Keep an eye on the DaliCMS pages to get more info in the not so distant future. My new guess is that JavaFX will get more and more attention in the next few months. 

JavaFX is one of the two RIA technologies I am very interested in. The other one is Flex. Using JavaFX does not mean that I abandon Flex. At the contrary, I think Flex definitely has its place in the RIA landscape. The choice between JavaFX and Flex depends on what your skills are, what you want to achieve and what a specific project's requirements are. 

At this moment, you won't find too much information about JavaFX (although openjfx.org and  planet JFX are helpful.

When I find some time, I plan to make some of my examples available as well.